Finding Home

Posted on June 22, 2011. Filed under: Addiction Resources/Support, AlAnon, Parent of an Addict, Treatment Centers | Tags: , , , |

My daughter, Hayley, has been in recovery from heroin/crack cocaine (and anything else she could get her hands on) addiction for a little over a year.  As I recounted in my last blog post, One Year, she has come a very long way.  It’s a bloody miracle.  After a harrowing escape plan to extricate her from the crack house where she was living, she spent 12 days in a medical detox facility, 90+ days at a small residential women’s treatment center, then moved to one of their sober living houses close by.  After about 5 months, she was encouraged and invited to move into an apartment with two other younger women in recovery, all ‘graduates’ of the Safe Harbor Treatment Center program.  I visited her last month to celebrate her One Year of sobriety, and was impressed (or shall we say, ‘blown away’?) by what I saw. The apartment was well furnished (by her roommates), clean, orderly, and located in a very secure complex/compound with lovely grounds.  Hayley had her own bedroom – had even bought a bed, dresser, and bedside table.  She was working full time at the treatment center, but only earning $11.00/hour.  She was proud of the fact that she had been able to ‘make it’ on her own, without asking either me or her dad for money.  Yet, things are very tight, financially, and don’t allow for any extras – including medical/dental expenses, car repairs, random, unplanned-for expenses, etc.

And now, after just getting really settled and in to a routine, her two roommates are moving, and Hayley needs to find another place to live.

There are complicating factors: she can’t financially afford an apartment on her own (the family of one of her roommates has been ‘helping’ with their rent); her credit score/record is so miserable, she could never sign/co-sign a lease; and, she has a dog – a darling dog, mind you, who brings Hayley so much joy and affection – – – but, is also a liability.

Hayley has known this was coming for a month or so – and has been diligently looking for potential roommates.  She has cycled through quite a few possibilities, with all of them falling through due to one reason or another.  And with the deadline looming on June 25th, I’m getting nervous.  She’s stressed, too.  She called last week to give me a lengthy update on the roommate and apartment choices that were left.  And the one she’s settled on, isn’t ideal, which she acknowledges; yet, she feels it will ‘do’ until next fall when her preferred roommate choice, Kristin, will be ready to move to an apartment.

Here’s the plan:  Hayley met a very nice ‘older’ guy in her apartment complex who has a little dog with whom Hayley’s dog, Bear, likes to play.  This ‘Guy’ (don’t even know his name), is moving to a 2 bedroom apartment within the same complex, and offered to rent Hayley the second bedroom.  She figures that this will be a temporary arrangement, until she can find a more ideal and permanent situation. Hayley has seen his current apartment – and says it’s well appointed and clean/neat.  The ‘Guy’ would love to have Hayley’s dog around on a regular basis for his dog to play with.  Hayley has discussed preliminary details with the ‘Guy’ – letting him know she has a serious boyfriend, setting clear boundaries, discussing expectations, etc.  There’s internet service there, but still, her rent will be a little more than what she’s now paying.  The ‘Guy’ has a cleaning person every couple of weeks – so Hayley offered to do the cleaning, for a slight reduction in rent.  (YIKES!  Her ‘clean’ standards are very different from mine!  Will she actually be able to do this?  Sounds iffy, to me)

The ‘Guy’, is also asking for a $500 deposit to cement the deal.  Hayley indicated she would need help with this, which has already created a dilemma for me regarding ‘enabling’.

Of course, a million red flags go up, for me.

•is this guy really a pervert who will try to take advantage of/hit on my daughter?

•does he have some weird habits/quirks that Hayley will find out about only after moving in?

•is he honest and a good person, and someone who is just trying to help out some one in need?

•is this guy in recovery, himself?  Or, will there be alcohol, at the very least, around?

                                                    JUST WHAT IS THIS GUY’S STORY?

 

And why am I so suspicious? Hayley’s past history with choosing roommates hasn’t been especially stellar.  She’s always been able to convincingly rationalize why she’s moving in with so-and-so – and almost always, it has proven to be a disaster.

And, to further complicate matters, this new apartment won’t be ready for move-in until July 15th, which means Hayley will have to pack up and store her things in a friend’s garage, and ‘couch surf’ at friends’ for three weeks.

Can any of this work?  Of course, I have no control over any of it, and need to just let it all go.  I did pose some questions to Hayley for her to consider – which she did not take offense to, and seemed to have already thought of them.

I do  believe there is a difference in enabling addiction and enabling recovery.  In fact, I prefer to use the term, supporting  recovery.  If I give Hayley the $500 for the room deposit, I’m sure I’ll never see it again.  I would need to give it “for fun and for free”, to quote an Al-Anon slogan.  I’m glad that she’s not just automatically moving in with her boyfriend, Rob. And – – – I guess anything is better than the crack house, right?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

5 Responses to “Finding Home”

RSS Feed for Helplessly hoping . . . Comments RSS Feed

wow…..lots of food for thought. I can see how you feel in all of this. Keep us posted on how it works out with her new roommate. Hope it all goes well.

“I need to just let it all go”. No truer words have been spoken. Yes, you do. You don’t need to worry about any of it, because it’s out of your control. Hayley could get a second job to earn the deposit. You can’t protect her from relapse, if that is what she chooses to do. No money in the world is going to stop it. Just concentrate on your own recovery, and let Haley work on hers. I do understand your concern, but I think other than giving advice if she asks for it, you really can’t or should not do anything else.

I’m in agreement with you on this one . . enviornment is so crucial . . .and I wouldn’t want her to be indebted to “some guy” by being his maid. Can she rent a room at SH or one of the other facilities until Fall?

Red flags went up for me and she’s not even my daughter. Something about this guy makes me uncomfortable, but I don’t know why. I also don’t like the idea of her couch surfing because that “feels” like something you do when using. I would be a terrible mother of a daughter. I don’t think I’d worry if Keven told me this same story but knowing how beautiful your Hayley is combined with my general suspicion of most men….it bothers me.

I wish she could find two nice young women in recovery to move in. But you’re right, anything is better than the crack house. She’s a grown adult and I should not be worrying 🙂

Please let u s know the outcome.

Barb – yes, you phrased it perfectly. Hayley called me in tears last night. Being unsettled and couch surfing for 3 weeks does trigger ‘using’ feelings in her. I encouraged her to go to a meeting, and find a sponsor. She hasn’t had a sponsor for several months now – hasn’t even worked through all 12 steps. She called back, had been to a meeting, talked with an older woman who has been in recovery for over 20 years, and feels better. I also encouraged her to not be afraid to let herself feel these feelings of stress, anxiety, etc. – – – and, I added, “Well, you know what doesn’t work for you.” That was a good reminder, she said. She’ll need cheerleading these next few weeks. Thanks for your comments.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

