It’s Not Easy Being A Heroin Addict

Posted on November 22, 2009. Filed under: addiction | Tags: , , |

. . . but it seems to be something at which my daughter is succeeding.  She’s ‘making it’ in the drug world.  You have to cut yourself off from family and friends and any ‘help’ or support;  you have to learn how to use needles, find veins, inject yourself;  and, of course, you have to constantly be on the make for your next fix which is, most likely, always a challenge;  you have to lie, cheat, steal, conceal, be ever vigilant, protect yourself from bodily harm and not trust anyone;  you have to compromise your values and adopt a whole new standard of living; you become adept at scheming, scamming, and learning a whole new culture; you have to avoid going out in public in case you run in to someone you know;  you have to avoid the police at all costs, for fear of being arrested; your physical health is in constant jeopardy from abscesses, infection, constipation, over-dose;  you’re totally dependent on acquiring another fix in order to avoid getting sick.  It’s basic survival mode, every few hours.  I’m not sure I could do it.  Could you?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

7 Responses to “It’s Not Easy Being A Heroin Addict”

RSS Feed for Helplessly hoping . . . Comments RSS Feed

No it is not easy being an addict. I am a heroin addict, and I am now clean. The hardest part isn’t stopping, its the time that passes after the actual physical withdrawal sickness (which isn’t easy at all, yet can not kill you). Not all addicts have to steal, cheat, lie, & do crime in order to support their addictions, but the lifestyle of any addiction is very hard yet its also exciting. Its hard to replace this with something equally as exciting and also positive. I enjoy reading on here how it effects the lives of those who love the addict, this is one of the many reasons I am clean today, I simply couldn’t put my family through it anymore. The worst thing anyone can do is enable an addict, the people who I know that still are using all have family that “help” them financially, pay their bills, bail them out of jail etc. My family hasn’t ever done this, and as a result I’ve had to deal with the consequences of my addiction, and at a relatively young age, I’ve realized it just isn’t worth it. Good Luck to all, Alanon seemed to help my family when I was using. Today we have a great relationship. It can happen. So have hope.

Hi Peg. Wow. I think I’ll print this out and show it to my son. Maybe it will help him stay on the clean side. Sorry I haven’t been visiting regularly. Sometimes I have long period w/out going online. Haven’t written on my own blog in awhile. Anyway, really just wanted to say that I’m glad you’re still here and writing! I think of you and keep you in my prayers.

Good to hear from you, Kay. I found a spot where there is a community of parents of addicts. It’s quite a club. Go to parentsofanaddict.blogspot.com Lots of references there – I’m just beginning to explore it myself. How was T-giving?

Good Thanksgiving. Head to East Coast to visit w/ my mom this weekend. Will check in w/ you after that. I saw the Blog you referenced. I will head back there soon. Hugs.

I am sorry for your trouble. My daughter is also addicted to crack and heroine. It has been 4 years now.

It is the hardest road I know but you are not alone. You did not cause it. You can not cure it and you can not control it. Alanon helps.

God Bless you I am sorry for the pain.

We have seen how terrible this life can be too. It is so sad.

are you a parent of an addict? if so, there is a whole community we have sort of built over at blogspot. you can start with Dad and Mom at http://parentsofanaddict.blogspot.com/

and go from there.

Dawn


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

