Real Recovery

Posted on October 26, 2009. Filed under: Addiction Resources/Support, Treatment Centers | Tags: , , |

Here is a great article published recently on the Huffington Post: “The Real Road to Recovery: My Journey from Heroin Addiction to Helping to End the War on Drugs”, by a recovering heroin addict and journalist, Kathie Kane-Willis.

Also, this recent article in the New York Times about recovering addicts and their need for long-term suppport, is worth taking a look at.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “Real Recovery”

RSS Feed for Helplessly hoping . . . Comments RSS Feed

Hi
I have two blogs concerning my past and present experiences with addiction, recovery, bi-polar and add. these are true personal writing that are helping me find out who I am and may help other addict s in the process. My blog addresses are http://www.anaddictsinnerself.blogspot.com and http://www.dailymemoirstofindingmyinnerself.wordpress.com. I am looking for other blog authors to post comments and to subscribe to their blogs. Please let me know what you think.
Tasiasmama

Peg – I am a friend,a mom, a health care provider, and I have a stepson who dabbled in recreational drugs. I kept trying to imagine what you are going through. It would be foolish for me to say I have an inkling. A few years ago I worked as the school nurse in a private therapeutic girls’ boarding school in Vermont. No one was in an acute phase of their struggles but they all came with baggage and amazing defenses. I really loved many of them . When they challenged me and tried to manipulate me I learned that I needed to set boundaries and be consistent. Otherwise I had no credibility and would gain no respect. I often had to ask myself – what is my role? What can I do to be helpful to help a girl re-claim a sense of dignity and not loose mine. I think that is the question that each of us must ask ourselves. So Alanon may be good for some and not right for another. I think this blog is a wonderful way to explore our own individual comfort level in situations painful and out of your control.
C.C.

C.C. This is the true dilemma. What are reasonable boundaries? It gets fuzzy when it’s your own ‘child’ – even if she’s a thirty yo adult. It seems ‘easier’ to set limits when there are no blood ties. So – do I arrange to have warm winter clothes delivered to my heroin addict daughter? (she won’t disclose where exactly she is living, but a mutual friend does know.) Do I resume texting her? How do I express love without enabling her? How can I support her in finding her own way to recovery?


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

